Tourist Visa Rules in Nepal (Effective from 16 July 2008) Tourists who visit Nepal must hold valid passports and visas.

A. Tourist entry Visa

It can be obtained for the following duration from the Nepal Embassy, Consulate, or Mission offices abroad, or at the following immigration offices in Nepal:

Tribhuvan International Airport, Kathmandu

Kakarvitta, Jhapa (Eastern Nepal)

Birganj, Parsa (Central Nepal)

Kodari, Sindhupalchowk (Northern Border)

Belhiya, Bhairahawa (Rupandehi, Western Nepal)

Jamuna, Nepalgunj (Banke, Mid Western Nepal)

Mohana, Dhangadhi (Kailali, Far Western Nepal)

Gaddachauki, Mahendranagar (Kanchanpur, Far Western Nepal)

B. Tourist Visa

1. Multiple entries 15 days US$ 30 or equivalent convertible currency

2. Multiple entries 30 days US$ 50 or equivalent convertible currency

3. Multiple entries 90 days US$ 125 or equivalent convertible currency

C. Tourist Visa Extension

A visa extension fee for 15 days or less is US $ 30 or equivalent convertible currency and a visa extension fee for more than 15 days is US$ 2 per day

A tourist visa can be extended for a maximum period of 150 days in a single visa year (January – December).

D. Gratis (Free) Visa

Gratis visa for 30 days is available only for tourists of SAARC countries.

Indian nationals do not require visas to enter Nepal.

E. Transit Visa:

A Transit visa for one day can be obtained from Nepal’s immigration offices at the entry points upon the production of departure flight tickets via Tribhuvan International Airport in Nepal, by paying the US $ 5 or equivalent convertible currency. (For further information, please, contact the Department of Immigration, Maitighar, Impact Building, Kathmandu, Tel:00977-1-4221996 00977-1-4221996 / 4223590 /4222453, web site: